Daniel Jones and Lucretia Tallman Marriage Certificate

For the purpose of this blog, Daniel Sydeny Jones (#2) and Lucretia Tallman are to beginning of the tree, so I thought it a good idea to start with something from them.  This is a copy of their marriage certificate from the city of Bloomfield in Davis County,  Iowa.

Daniel and Lucretia met and lived in Schyuler County Missouri.  Daniel was a school teacher and Lucretia one of his students.  I know what you are thinking because I thought the same thing when I first found this out.  I don’t know if there was any sort of scandal attached to this or not.  Even my grandma (their daughter) didn’t’ know the full details.  From what I can gather, it doesn’t seem like it was too big of a deal.

Again, I am unsure of the reasons, but on the fourth of July while attending a fair or carnival of some sort just over the state border in Bloomfield, Iowa, they decided to just go ahead and get married.

However it happened, from what I can gather from my grandma, they were quite happy in their marriage.  They spent a good deal of their marriage in Schuyler County, Missouri and that is where 6 of their 7 children were born and spent most of their childhoods.  They then moved to Colorado, where they had their “oops” baby (my grandma) and spent the rest of their days farming the plains just east of Colorado Springs.

Categories: Jones, Tallman | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

